I got a story like that

Artists and Writers…Finally a place to share. The world is a better place when we write, paint and illustrate creativity! All Rights Reserved

LIGHTS OUT

 

Lights Out

 “Buzz buzz buzz, that’s all I ever hear around here. Doesn’t anyone rest for a minute, jeez, enough already.” Well if you haven’t figured it out by now I’ll clue you in, I’m a bug. Yeah that right, I said “bug,” I have been a bug for as long as I can remember and I will most likely be a bug for the rest of my life. I like being a bug; the other bugs around here, they come and go constantly. I on the other hand try hard to stay in one spot for as long as I can.

It’s the “always on the go” life style that can kill ya, you know? Besides we all have to stay alert for that terribly bright light that appears at times.

Earlier today the light was very very bright and my 2 dozen eyeballs were starting to hurt like heck. The day before the same thing happened to a bug buddy of mine. He was walking around when suddenly the light was so bright that he was blinded and now he has to use a bug sized cane to get around, ha ha. You know what’s so funny about that; he’s a caterpillar so he has to use like 50 canes. Today I’m going to help him find some more twigs he can use as canes.

We were crawling along on this branch looking for twigs when I suddenly saw the bright light coming towards us again. I closed all my eyes and waited until the light was gone. When I finally opened my eyes I saw that my blind bug buddy was walking towards the edge of the branch. “Hold on there,  you’re about to fall.” I said as gently nudged him back onto the fatter part of the branch. He smiled in my general direction and said, “Thank you friend”.

We took our time walking on the branch so as not to slip off. Our day was almost over and I really wanted to get back to my nest. I had this nice little ball of grass that I made into a home right after I was born and I wanted to be back inside of it before it got too late.

We did find about two dozen twig canes and I promised my bug buddy that I would go back out tomorrow and help him get the rest of the canes he needed. We said our good nights and I went into my little grass ball nest to sleep.

It was the light woke me up I tried to look away but it was getting closer and closer, brighter and brighter. The last thing I remember was hearing a strange sound.

Was that a human voice?

The voice was saying, “Come Here, Hurry Mommy, that cute little blue and gold bug is back inside its grass house, I’ll shine my flashlight at it so you can see”.

************************************************************************************

The amazing artwork was submitted by our new friend Susan Geckle
http://susangeckle.wordpress.com/

The title “Lights Out” and the recklessy assorted words were provided by me Steve O’Brien @ http://sobnyc.wordpress.com/

 

 

3 Comments»

  littlemissobsessivesanatomy wrote @

bug bug bug 🙂

  sobnyc wrote @

hahahaaha,,,just reading your comment out loud,”bug bug bug” makes me laugh..Thanks

  Anne Onsøien wrote @

What a cute bug, and fun words!


Leave a Reply

