I got a story like that

Artists and Writers…Finally a place to share. The world is a better place when we write, paint and illustrate creativity! All Rights Reserved

THE HALF BLIND DATE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

“RING,RING”, went the phone in the cabin of Shelia’s houseboat. “Okay Okay I’m coming,” Shelia yelled as she reached over the bunk bed/kitchen table to get to the pink princess phone in the center of the boats cabin. Phone in hand and half out of breath she spoke, “Hello?”

“Hi is this Shelia?” asked the voice on the other end.

“Yes it is,” Shelia replied ,“who’s calling please?”

“Hi My name is Eddie, I’m Alan’s friend, and he gave me your phone number. Alan did tell you about me didn’t he?” Eddie asked hesitantly, Eddie was very nervous about meeting someone new. With him being a Pirate on the open seas, he really never had time for a girlfriend. His sword buckling scars and the loss of his left eye always scared woman off.

Shelia said to herself for a moment, Eddie, Eddie, “Oh my, she exclaimed, yes, yes Eddie, Alan’s friend, of course. I’m sorry the call took me by surprise.” Shelia started thinking to herself “I hate these blind dates; you never know anything about the other person”.

Eddie started talking,” I guess our friends thought we might get along?”

He sounds polite enough, she thought. Shelia suddenly realized that they had been talking for almost 2 hours, laughing and joking about previous blind dates and experiences they have had. Eddie really sounded like a great guy; she was happy and relaxed for a change. Shelia smiled at the prospect of getting along with someone. It had been so long since her tragic boating accident that anyone would even give her a second glance these days. Most folks just stared at her when she walked into town to get supplies. The two of them acted like teenagers on the phone talking about their favorite music and their mutual love of sailing. Before she knew it they were sharing everything about themselves, well almost everything. Shelia didn’t have the courage to tell Eddie everything about herself. She wasn’t ready to tell him about what had happened that fateful day last year on her boat. Thinking to herself, “How do you tell someone you just met that you lost your right eye and that you now have to wear an eye patch?

 

This incredibly thought engaging artwork was submitted by our good friend Edilio Cicostile http://ediliociclostile.wordpress.com/

 

The words and the title “The Half Blind Date” is from my brain as I wrote this story.http://sobnyc.wordpress.com/

I hope you all enjoy it… Steve

 

-Peace

 

 

 

33 Comments»

  deniseaversadeniseaversad wrote @

Now THAT is a Valentines Day story! Loved it. Thank you for the smile.

  silentlyheardonce wrote @

I enjoyed this story very much.

  sobnyc wrote @

the artist is from Italy and when he sent me that drawing I started writing and before I knew it I was done. So may people have asked me to make “that” one longer, maybe. I try to keep the stories short so that the visitor to the blog will read the whole thing at first glance.

  silentlyheardonce wrote @

I know I always end up writing too much. But that story does deserve more. do it in segments.

  sobnyc wrote @

I will for you

  silentlyheardonce wrote @

So kind 🙂

  Judy wrote @

good story!

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello friend, thank you for the kind words. Please feel free to share this site to all who seek fun. -Peace

  perlajulieta wrote @

So cute!! 😀

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello friend, thank you for your kind words. Please feel free to share this site to all who seek fun. -Peace

  perlajulieta wrote @

Very cute indeed! I shall share! Peace with you too my friend..

  perlajulieta wrote @

So cute!!! 😀

  sheilatm wrote @

Of course, I was intrigued because I am a Sheila – with two good eyes. Fun read.

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello Shelia, maybe in some mystical way, you and I connected on this story, huh? You don’t happen to have an eye patch or a guy named “Eddie The Pirate” in your life,do you?

-Peace

  travellingartista wrote @

There’s somebody for everyone 🙂

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello friend, Your comment is so true. When I was sent the picture the story developed right before my eye(s). Thank you for SEEING my words. -Peace

  allinthedayofme wrote @

Soooo…what’s the rest of the story? 😉

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello friend, Ahh yes the continuing tale. When the pictures come in I write from the hip almost instantaneously. I usually keep them at 300 to 400 words so to accommodate my posting format. BUT since you and others have asked, I promise to write this one a bit longer. Soon.
-Peace

  allinthedayofme wrote @

I’ll be waiting! 😉

  Anastasia wrote @

One left eye + one right = match made in heaven!

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello friend, YES YES. The eyes have it! hehe

-Peace

  littlemissobsessivesanatomy wrote @

wow i want to read more… 🙂

  Anne Onsøien wrote @

Me too, Steve, write more!!

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello,

How about this, send me another one of those incredible images that jump from your mind onto paper and I’ll write for you too ! 🙂

  Anne Onsøien wrote @

okidoki!

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello friend,

You flatter me, thanks. Then I will give you more.

-Peace

  Mirriam Smyth wrote @

🙂 I think they’ll get along great! Great (beginning of?) story!

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello friend,

Yes I do believe they would get along fine. I have always felt that pre-judging others especially on appearance is a terrible mistake. I will continue this tale and we shall see.

-Peace

  ediliociclostile wrote @

Reblogged this on Edilio Ciclostile.

  jsheravanich wrote @

It’s sure a blind date. Nice story.

  sobnyc wrote @

Hello friend,

Half Blind at the very least, right? Thanks for liking it.

-Peace

  ediliociclostile wrote @

Very nice, thanks!

  sobnyc wrote @

you are most welcome my friend,, you are a terrific talent,I am honored that you allow me to write for you.

-Peace


Leave a Reply

