I got a story like that

Artists and Writers…Finally a place to share. The world is a better place when we write, paint and illustrate creativity! All Rights Reserved

NEVER AGAIN

Here is another wonderful piece of art that was sent to me. I asked this talented artist to send me any artwork they wanted and that I would write  my interpretation of  that piece.

I call this story Never Again.

“Never again, NEVER NEVER NEVER,” I said out loud. “That’s it, it’s over. I’m done. I’m finished with you and I’m finished with this, this so called life. I have no life, all I do is work work work”

***His reply reeked of boredom and was very low toned  “Ha ha, you can’t just up and leave like that. Just like me you’re stuck. You’ve given this thing of ours more than you care to admit. You’re in too deep. You can’t walk away, just like I can’t walk away, nobody just walks away!” He said in a very convincing voice that flowed like sweet wine being poured into my out stretched glass of “whatever this is that I have become.”

I replied through a long sip of me.“Maybe you can’t quit this, this thing we have become, but I can and I will,”

My mind drifted and I thought back at all “that I had now become.” What I had gone through, the rehearsals, the shows, the before and after parties, the ass-kissing and begging for auditions.

Sure, I was a HUGE success.

Sure I have all the money and awards one person should ever have, more than I’ll ever need.  

Was all that necessary, just to get here? Was it worth it to get here to this moment, this place and time, with him?

Who was he to tell me what is or is not good for me? I could stop this anytime I choose to, couldn’t I?

***Suddenly He whispered quickly and firmly. “I know what you’re thinking, and you can forget about it, right now.”

There was an unpleasant pause in the air as I squeezed my eyes closed in an attempt to isolate and compose my thoughts and reply. I was determined not to be bullied anymore. It was time for me to take back control, be myself, for myself, for my survival!

Still alone in my dressing room as I had been from the start of this conversation. I stood and looked directly into the mirror smiled and said,” Okay one more show, one more, then, I’m quitting,”

My reflection in my mirror just smiled back at me and whispered, “Sure, sure it’s your last show, it’s always you’re last show, you go and knock ’em dead.

***I’ll be right here when you get back, then WE can talk some more like we always do”

*****************************************************

The words came from  Steve O’Brien   sobnyc.wordpress

The art is from Crenguta Mirela Bacaoanu

I love this collaboration, please challenge me !!!!

1 Comment»

  Naomi Baltuck wrote @

This is a great story!


Leave a Reply

